Skip to page body Home Government Residents Visitors Doing Business Newsroom How Do I...

Atlanta Workforce Development Agency
818 Pollard Blvd., SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30315
Tel: 404.546.3000
Fax: 404.546.6892

Executive Director
Michael T. Sterling
mtsterling@atlantaga.gov

Executive Assistant 
Phyllis D. Bryant 
Tel: 404.546.3026
pbryant@atlantaga.gov

Director of Operations 
Tammy Lipsey 
Tel: 404.546.3002
tlipsey@atlantaga.gov

Deputy Director of Operations 
Lillie Madali 
Tel: 404.546.3050
lmadali@atlantaga.gov

Director of Finance
Karen B. Simmons 
Tel: 404.546.3056
ksimmons@atlantaga.gov

Deputy Director of Finance 
Pamela Ferrell 
Tel: 404.546.3042
pferrell@atlantaga.gov

Director of Performance Management 
Phillip Olaleye 
Tel: 404.546.3087
paolaleye@atlantaga.gov

Business Relationship Manager 
Amit Khanduri
Tel: 404.546.3084 
akhanduri@atlantaga.gov

Communications Director
Jennifer Ogunsola 
Tel: 404.546.3035
jogunsola@atlantaga.gov

TTY/TDD
1-800-255-0135

From Mobile Devices
Dial: 711

Michael T. Sterling
Executive Director
Michael T. Sterling
Biography 

AWDA Local Workforce Investment Board Meeting 8/19/2015. Click here for more information.

Mission:

The Atlanta Workforce Development Agency (AWDA) serves as the workforce system for the City of Atlanta. The agency will provide job seekers with resources to attain sustainable employment and collaborate with business leaders for the recruitment and development of their labor needs.

Strategic Vision:

Our approach to achieving a brighter future for residents of Atlanta and the Agency will be through Five Pillars: 

  1. To employ a disciplined, dynamic, dedicated and well-trained team of workforce professionals. 
  2. To achieve excellence in customer service.
  3. To secure long-term financial success and fiscal integrity.
  4. To maintain a data-driven and performance based system of service.
  5. To create a network of collaboration between public, private, non-profit and education stakeholders.

AWDA offers a number of career, education and training services to help City of Atlanta job seekers find a path to sustainable employment.

Services Offered:

  • GED preparation and Assistance (Ages 18 and Over)
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Services
  • Job Readiness and Interview Skills Training
  • Computer Skills Development
  • Job Leads and Connections of Job Seekers to Employment
  • Interview Opportunities with Prospective Employers
  • Business Relations Solutions
  • Additional Services Available through Partner Referrals

Supportive Services:

  • Child Care Center (Elizabeth Burch Early Learning Center)
  • Computer Lab
  • Clothes Closet (provides professional attire for job seekers)
  • Transportation

AWDA is MARTA accessible, with a stop in front of its corporate office. Operating hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The corporate office remains open as late as 9 p.m. for scheduled training classes. We encourage anyone interested in our services to register online and attend an orientation, which is offered every Monday at 9 a.m.

AWDA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.  AWDA is responsible for programs and services within the City of Atlanta which are funded under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) of 2014. AWDA partners with federal, state, local governments, colleges, schools and community and faith based organizations in the delivery of comprehensive workforce development services.

Last updated: 8/18/2015 2:43:39 PM