Historic Preservation

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Meetings & Agendas 


Property & District Information

             Access Current and Proposed Urban Design Commission                Agendas and Staff Reports HERE 


Current Commission Members: 
Desmond Johnson,Chair - Architect

Dr. Jennifer Dickey - Historian

Fredalyn Frasier, Vice Chair - Urban Planner 

Andrew Kohr - Landscape Architect

Garfield Peart - Architect

Harold Morton - Neighborhood Representative

Robert Reed - Land Developer

Julie Sellers - Attorney

Commission Functions

  • The Commission nominates and regulates buildings and districts which are

    designated as Historic Buildings or Sites, Landmark Buildings or Sites, Conservation Districts, Historic Districts, or Landmark Districts.

  • The Commission reviews and comments on projects that involve City of Atlanta property, rights-of-way, or parks.

  • The Commission reviews and comments on the capital expenditures by other public agencies or authorities that are required to submit plans for review by the City of Atlanta.

  • The Commission reviews and comments to the Zoning Review Board and Board of Zoning Adjustment on any proposed action pending before those boards regarding any building, site or districts that has been designated under the City's historic preservation ordinance.

  • The Commission provides technical assistance and public information to property owners, residents, and others interested in historic preservation, the City of Atlanta's history, the historic resources within the City of Atlanta, or other related subjects.

Commission Operations
The Atlanta Urban Design Commission was established in 1975 by a City of Atlanta ordinance. Since the City's current Historic Preservation Ordinance was enacted in 1989, over 60 individual properties and 18 districts have been brought under its protection.

Any time that work on the exterior of such a designated property is proposed, a Certificate of Appropriateness must be obtained from the Commission, as well as the normal building permit. It is the intent of the City's Historic Preservation Ordinance that any changes which occur to a designated property be in keeping with the historic character of the building or district.

The Urban Design Commission consists of a Staff of three (3) and a Board of 11 members who are all residents of the City of Atlanta. The members of the Commission are volunteers and are appointed to serve three-year terms by the Mayor, City Council, and Council President. According to City ordinance, the Commission membership includes two architects, as well as a landscape architect, lawyer, land developer, real estate professional, historic preservationist, artist, historian, neighborhood representative, nd urban planner. Seven members of the board constitute a quorum for conducting its business.

Public Meetings
The Commission meets on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 4:00 pm, in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 55 Trinity Avenue, SW. The public is welcome to attend and is given the opportunity to speak in support of or in opposition to items on the agenda.

The Commission's Rules of Procedure govern the operations of the Commission and how it conducts its public meetings. 

Individual Buildings/Sites Currently Designated by the City of Atlanta

click here for:

Individual Buildings/Sites  and Districts Currently Designated by the City of Atlanta
(Landmark, Historic, and Conservation)


Contact Info

Office of Design -
Historic Preservation

55 Trinity Avenue
Suite 3350
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Tel: 404.330.6145
Fax: 404.658.7491

Doug Young
Assistant Director
Historic Preservation
Executive Director, AUDC


Matt Adams
Urban Planner, IIImdadams@atlantaga.gov

Susan Coleman
Urban Planner, II

Chris Barnum
Urban Planner, I

Leslie Battle-Williams
Project Coordinator


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
View Full Site