Neighborhood Planning Unit (NPU)

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

What is a Neighborhood Planning Unit?

The City of Atlanta is divided into twenty-five (25) Neighborhood Planning Units (NPUs), which are citizen advisory councils that make recommendations to the Mayor and City Council on zoning, land use, and other planning matters. The NPU system was established in 1974 by the late Mayor Maynard Jackson to provide an opportunity for all citizens to actively participate in the Comprehensive Development Plan, which is the city's vision for the next five, ten, and fifteen years. Since then the NPU system has evolved into what it is today – an official avenue for citizens to receive updates concerning all functions of City government. Enabling citizens to express concerns and provide input helps the City in developing plans that best meet the needs of each community.

Which Neighborhood Planning Unit do I live in?

  • I want to see a list of every neighborhood in each NPU – click here
  • I want to see every neighborhood in alphabetical order with corresponding NPU – click here
  • You can also click on the map below to see a more detailed map of the neighborhoods within each NPU:

**Due to 17-O-1423 (signed by the Mayor 12/13/17), the boundaries of NPU-F have expanded. Please see here for the most recent NPU-F map. 

When and where does my NPU meet?

 NPU Agendas & Schedule 

Membership is open to anyone 18 years or older whose primary residence is within the NPU, as well as to any corporation, organization, institution, or agency which owns property or has a place of business within the NPU.


View Full Site