Watershed Management

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Contact Info
City of Atlanta, Department of
Watershed Management
72 Marietta Street NW
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Kishia L. Powell

Customer Service
Call: 311 or 404-546-0311

We want to hear from you, please use our online form at ATL311.com to submit request online or contact us at 404-546-0311 outside the City limits, or 311 within the City limits 7:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Monday - Friday.

Atlanta Watershed Website

CSO Event Notices

Spill Notices


Office of Linear Infrastructure Operations
Calvin Farr, 
Assistant Commissioner

Office of the Commissioner
Andrada Butler
Chief Administrative Officer

Office of Water Treatment and Reclamation  
Richard Parker,  
Deputy Commissioner

Office of Financial Administration
Mohamed Balla, 
Deputy Commissioner

Office of Watershed Protection
Todd Hill, 
Deputy Commissioner

Office of Customer Care and Billing Services
Quinn Jackson
Deputy Commissioner

Office of Communications and Community Relations
Rukiya Campbell, APR
Director of Communications & Community Relations
Tel: 404-546-3200

Office of Performance and Accountability

Office of Safety, Security and Emergency Management
Micheal Hill
Director of the Office of Safety, Security and Emergency Management

Director of Policy and Intergovernmental Affairs
Cristi C. Walker

Consent Decree Program Director
Mikita K. Browning

Open Records Officer

The Department of Watershed Management is dedicated to providing the highest quality drinking water and wastewater services to residential, businesses and wholesale customers while protecting Atlanta’s urban waterways, conserving natural resources, and providing clean, safe water for downstream customers.

Led by Commissioner Kishia L. Powell, the Department is continuing work on the $4 billion Clean Water Atlanta program, which is a complete overhaul of the City’s water and sewer infrastructure undertaken as part of two federal consent decrees. Since 1998, $2 billion in improvements have been completed under the first consent decree, governing the combined sewer system.. The second consent decree was extended until 2027 and includes a rehabilitation of 363 miles of collection system and a 97% reduction in spill volume.

To distinguish ourselves as leaders in innovation, service and value.


  •   Delivering excellent customer service through a motivated, skilled, and empowered workforce 

  • Ensuring treatment and delivery of high quality drinking water as well as collection and reclamation of wastewater to a high standard while implementing innovative solutions for resource recovery 

  • Sustainable stormwater management, integrated planning and mitigation of the adverse impacts of flooding, while leveraging partnerships to protect, restore and enhance our watersheds 

  • Building the capacity to be a strong partner in the resilience of our City

Please click here to go to www.Atlantawatershed.org for in-depth Department information.

For water conservation information, click here

To read about water and sewer rate information, click here

To read the new Water Quality Report for 2016, click here

For CSO Event Notices, click here

For Spill Notices, click here

For Requests for Balance Pay-Off/New Procedures, click here

Office of the Commissioner
The Commissioner’s Office is responsible for strategic planning and oversight for the long-term development and operation of drinking water treatment and distribution, wastewater collection and treatment services, and stormwater management. The office ensures that the City complies with all federal and state regulations regarding water resource management; identifies potential environmental issues and develops strategies to effectively respond; ensures the City is aware of proposed environmental standards, trends and technologies; and that it provides engineering reviews and design and construction management services on capital improvement projects.

Office of Water Treatment and Reclamation 
The Office of Water Treatment and Reclamation is responsible for the management, operation and maintenance of the City’s two drinking water plants and storage facilities, four wastewater treatment plants, six combined sewer overflow treatment facilities, and 16 sewage pump stations.

The Office of Linear Infrastructure Operations
The Office of Linear Infrastructure Operations oversees all aspects of the drinking water system, including raw water supply, treatment, distribution, water quality compliance and all City owned storm infrastructure.

Office of Engineering Services
The Office of Engineering Services is responsible for overall management of the Department’s capital improvement program, including design and construction of projects to comply with the City’s Consent Decrees and Administrative Orders, as well as other improvements to the City's drinking water and wastewater systems.

Office of Financial Administration
The Office of Financial Administration provides centralized financial and administrative support to the Department. The Office is responsible for preparing, evaluating and monitoring the Department’s budget, including monthly reporting on actual-to-budgeted revenues and expenses. The Office also performs long-term financial planning for Watershed Management.

Office of Watershed Protection
The Office of Watershed Protection has responsibility for the City’s grease management, greenspace protection, stream bank stabilization, flood prevention, erosion control, land development regulation and site development plan review programs. 
Office of Customer Care and Billing Services
The Office of Customer and Business Services is responsible for the Department’s Customer Service unit, relations with inter-jurisdictional customers, management of the customer service billing system, procurement, central warehouse and fleet, central document control and management and maintenance of buildings and grounds.

Office of Communications and Community Relations
The Office of Communications and Community Relations is responsible for all communications materials, including internal and external material, maintenance of the Department's website; video production for the Department; and all media-related activities.

Office of Performance and Accountability
The Office of Performance and Accountability is tracks, analyzes and reports performance data, in addition to conducting reviews of the Department’s offices and programs and identifying innovative strategies and solutions to address performance barriers, streamline processes, enhance internal controls, and improve customer service.  

New Water and Sewer Account
To start your water/sewer account. To end your water/sewer service.

Online Bill Payments and Payment Locations
Over the last year, the Department of Watershed Management (DWM) has undertaken several initiatives designed to make its customer service system more efficient and friendly.

Online bill payment tutorial (WebConnect). Click here
Frequently Asked Questions about online water/sewer bill payments. Click here

To make your water/sewer bills payments online. Click here  


View Full Site